Clarissa Sligh


Waiting for Daddy, 1987

www.clarissasligh.com

4 thoughts on “Clarissa Sligh

  1. When I initially saw this image I read the title before the words written on and around the image. Immediately I gathered that this was some sort of photo taken for the father as his family awaited his return home from some long absence. The writing on each individual in the photograph further led me to believe this and it also lengthened the time of his absence from home in my mind, leading me to now believe that he had not seen his children in quite some time thus warranting the use of their age and names as identifying factors. When I finally read the script around the images I quickly learned that my previous conclusion was incorrect. In other words, pictures can be deceiving. This just goes to show you that without textual explanations, for the viewer the image only means what they believe it to mean. An image thus can have as many meanings as it does viewers. It means what it means to the viewer. If you were to omit the text surrounding the image I would go on believing the above story because that is what it meant to me. Therefore in order to share the truth behind an image some text may be necessary. Now if the title were excluded as well as the writing on each individual, I would have come up with various assumptions, but not a single conclusion. Thus sometimes limited amounts of text can also be deceiving.

  2. Adding text to images can be a risky decision. Sometimes it is successful and sometimes it isn’t. I feel that in this instance it is.

    Sligh’s text isn’t simply explanatory, but adds to the story telling aspect of the photograph. It gives the viewer a point of view upon which to base his interpretations of the photo. Text adds to the content of this image.

    From an aesthetic perspective, the text is organic and dynamic. It succeeds in engaging the viewer with the image; it would be easy to glance at this photo without much consideration if the text were not present. Text is part of the overall experience of this photo.

  3. This image caught my attention because of it’s aged look at first and the text written all over it second. I think this photo is extremely captivating because of the story the image and the text tell together. I like how it takes a while to decipher the text because of the way it is broken up. It lets the viewer spend more time with the image. Also, I think it is visually interesting that Sligh placed descriptions of the children on them and not around or under them.

  4. My first thought when looking at this image was a family in poverty. A mother, with her children standing in front of a house that seems old. The expressions do not say much, they dont seem happy, but more so sad, or content. Then i read the text and it made it clear. No hot water, although the title when just reading that caught me off guard. I thought it was trying to say that they are waiting for dad to come home, rather then him to take the picture. The text is somewhat hard to read, but i think adds alot to the image.

Leave a Reply

