Animator-vs-Animation

animator.jpg

see flash animation

3 thoughts on “Animator-vs-Animation

  1. This is really clever. I see the play of animator vs. animation, but I also see a play within technology. I see a drama between the technological as an instrument or as a machine that responds to commands, represented in this case as the cursor, versus how the technological seems to have a volition all it’s own, represented by the free will of the stick-person. The incorporation of the various tools, signs and instruments from the flash program into the performance or action between the cursor and the stick-person suggests a context. Computers seem to always “act up” on us. I’ve often experienced my computer acting in a way I don’t want it to. The evolution of computers suggests its acting much like the stick-person, if not at the present then soon, if not in fantasy, movie or novel, perhaps in this century. I’m not sure the artist was thinking philosophical sci-fi when they created this piece. I am reading into this piece and my interest has responded to it because of its cleverness. [ ? ]

  2. I love this, it perfectly describes how frustrating technology can be, yet portrays it in funny way. The way the animation fights back with the tules in flash is very clever.

Leave a Reply

